CiviSmart, the Italian smart public lighting operator controlled by Augsburg-based investment manager PATRIZIA SE through its Smart City Infrastructure Fund (SCIF), announced on 22 September 2026 a €120,000,000 bank financing to refinance existing debt and fund growth across its 500,000 managed light points. A further €50,000,000 line has already been granted, lifting total potential capacity to €170,000,000, with UniCredit, the Milan branch of Natixis and Bayerische Landesbank (BayernLB) all acting as mandated lead arrangers.
Refinancing Comes First, And The Refinanced Amount Is Not Disclosed
UniCredit also acts as agent bank and issuing bank, according to the company announcement carried by Italian trade press, which places refinancing of existing indebtedness ahead of capital expenditure on concessions already held and growth through acquisitions and joint ventures in every segment CiviSmart serves.
The announcement does not state the tenor, pricing or tranche structure of the debt, or how much of the €120 million is absorbed by refinancing, so the amount of new capital available for expansion cannot be derived from public information.
CiviSmart said the facility supports its strategic plan to 2030 and brings its compliance and governance framework into line with the standards international lenders require, with the process led internally by chief executive Riccardo Amoroso and chief financial officer Matteo Barchi.
Valecap acted as financial adviser to CiviSmart, Fivers handled legal matters and Fichtner served as technical adviser, while Gianni & Origoni advised the banks, having acted for CiviSmart itself on a January 2026 acquisition, according to Energia Mercato.
“This significant amount of resources provides us with the flexibility and financial capacity needed to accelerate our growth in the public-private partnership market, both through the development of the existing portfolio and through new acquisitions,” said Riccardo Amoroso, CEO of CiviSmart, in the company’s September 2026 press release (translated from Italian).
About 100,000 Of The 500,000 Light Points Are Individually Controlled
PATRIZIA reported on 29 July 2026 that CiviSmart’s managed light points had grown by 32% in 18 months, from 380,000 at the start of 2025 to 500,000, through organic expansion and selective acquisitions, figures that are company-reported and not independently audited.
By region, 45% of the portfolio sits in Southern Italy, 20% in Central Italy and 35% in the North, divided between 15% in the North-East and 20% in the North-West.
More than half of the points carry remote monitoring and dimming, while roughly 20%, or about 100,000 fixtures on a simple calculation from the company’s percentages, run on point-to-point control, which leaves around 400,000 points without the node-level communication that services beyond lighting depend on.
Measured against the full €170 million capacity, the facility equates to about €340 per managed light point, falling to €240 per point on the committed €120 million alone.
A Platform Assembled Through Four Years Of Acquisitions
SCIF entered Italian public lighting in October 2022 by acquiring Ottima, based in Ascoli Piceno in the Marche region, and added Selettra of Avigliano, in the province of Potenza, a month later with an announced investment of up to €140 million.
Ottima bought Sitie Greenplant in 2023, and in February 2024 the fund acquired 85% of Chioggia-based Atlantico, raising capital committed to the Italian platform to €260 million and managed light points to about 360,000, according to BeBeez.
PATRIZIA merged the three operators under the CiviSmart name in April 2025 with more than 380,000 light points across 200 municipalities, as Kurrantly reported at the launch, and appointed Amoroso to lead the combined business.
In January 2026 CiviSmart agreed to buy majority stakes in three public lighting companies from Genera New Energy, controlled by SUSI Partners through its SUSI Energy Transition Fund, which together manage 21,000 light points in 11 municipalities, according to Legalcommunity.
The company now also sells municipalities public building efficiency, renewable energy communities, video surveillance, smart parking and public fleet electrification, usually through project financing or energy service company (ESCo) models.
Under the ESCo structure the private operator funds the upfront investment and part of its return depends on savings delivered under energy performance contracts, while in Chioggia the April 2025 launch release cites traffic management, video analytics and a citywide LoRaWAN network.
A €950 Million Fund Anchored By Dutch Pension Capital
SCIF launched in November 2018 with APG Asset Management investing on behalf of Dutch pension fund ABP, which committed €250 million at the outset and a further €500 million in 2021, according to IPE Real Assets.
With the first €750 million fully committed, APG added €200 million in August 2024, taking the fund to €950 million alongside a $500 million co-investment vehicle and PATRIZIA’s smart cities programme to about €1.4 billion of equity.
PATRIZIA reports approximately €56 billion in assets under management, of which more than €11 billion is in infrastructure according to the Italian financing announcement.
Half A Million Points In A Market Of About 11 Million
Italy had roughly 11 million public light points at the end of 2018, about 2.25 million of them LED, according to Politecnico di Milano’s Energy & Strategy Group as reported by Luce e Design, which would put CiviSmart’s estate at around 4.5% of the national stock on that dated baseline.
Utility-owned operators remain larger, with Hera Group’s lighting subsidiary Hera Luce reporting more than 600,000 light points across over 200 municipalities in 2024, according to Trieste All News, while CiviSmart described itself in January 2026 as the second-largest private operator by light points.
National energy agency ENEA has estimated that upgrading the network could cut public lighting energy use by 30% to 40%, according to QualEnergia, the savings on which CiviSmart’s concession and ESCo revenues ultimately depend.
When APG added capital in August 2024, PATRIZIA said the platform could reach one million light points within five years and become Italy’s largest operator, a target that implies adding about 170,000 points a year to August 2029, more than twice the pace of roughly 80,000 a year achieved since the launch.
Whether this facility can fund that acceleration depends on how much of the €120 million goes to retiring existing debt, the one figure neither CiviSmart nor its lenders have disclosed.
